Facebook Twitter Instagram

NASA 2018 Biennial Conference Presenter — Michael Rene Torres

Mark your calendars now to join us March 8-11, 2018 for the NASA 2018 Biennial Conference at University of Cincinnati College - Conservatory of Music in Cincinnati, Ohio.
James Bunte — Host
— Conference Program Committee Chair
— NASA Director of Marketing


NASA 2018 Biennial Conference
NASA 2018 Biennial Conference Premium Sponsors
2018 Conference Sponsors

You may click on the photo for a higher resolution version of the photo.

Name: Michael Rene Torres
Website: http://www.michaelrenetorres.weebly.com
Presentation Date: Friday, March 9, 2018 3:00 PM
Presentation Venue: Werner
Presentation Title: Michael Rene Torres Professional Proposal
Type of Presentation: Saxophone with Piano
Proposal Duration: 15
Bio: Saxophonist, composer, educator, and curator, Michael Rene Torres, currently serves as Lecturer of Saxophone at The Ohio State University. He is also the founder and Artistic Director of the Columbus Ohio Discovery Ensemble; a contemporary music ensemble dedicated to the promotion, performance, and perception of new music in Central Ohio. Additionally, Michael is an Advisory Board member of the Johnstone Fund for New Music which advances the performance of new music for the benefit of the Central Ohio community. Michael has commissioned and premiered several works for the concert saxophone and is an active chamber musician as a member of the flute/saxophone duet, Tower Duo. A winner of the Ohio Arts Council Individual Excellence Award and the Greater Columbus Arts Council Composition Fellowship, Torres’ compositional interests are in chamber music that explores the juxtaposition of consonance and dissonance and is often inspired by psychology. Michael is a Conn-Selmer Endorsing Artist.

Other Performers / Participants

Name Instrument Bio
Maria Staeblein Piano Pianist, Maria Staeblein, joined the Ohio State University School of Music in 2009 as a faculty memb . . .

Pieces to Be Performed

Title Composer Duration
Night is Mournful, Op. 26, No. 12 Sergei Rachmaninoff / Arr. Torres 4
The joy of the quiet in the transcendence of time Michael Rene Torres 11