Facebook Twitter Instagram

NASA 2018 Biennial Conference Presenter — Paul Nolen

Mark your calendars now to join us March 8-11, 2018 for the NASA 2018 Biennial Conference at University of Cincinnati College - Conservatory of Music in Cincinnati, Ohio.
James Bunte — Host
— Conference Program Committee Chair
— NASA Director of Marketing


Saxophone Player

Click here for the overall Conference Schedule. NOTE: The closing concert is on Sunday, March 13, at 3:00 PM in Hemmle Recital Hall. We hope you will make plans to be with us for this special performance.

You may click on the photo for a higher resolution version of the photo.

Name: Paul Nolen
Presentation Date: Friday, March 11, 2016 9:20 AM
Presentation Venue: Kent Hance Chapel
Presentation Title: Illinois State University Saxophone Ensemble
Type of Presentation: Professional Classical Chamber Music Performance
Proposal Duration: 20
Bio: null
Ensemble Bio:

The Illinois State University Saxophone Ensemble consists of some of the finest undergraduate students in the School of Music.  Formed in 2007 under the direction of Dr. Paul Nolen, the ensemble has performed numerous times on and off campus. Members of the 2015 ISU Saxophone Ensemble include Kevin Buck, Devin Cano, Riley Carter, Marwin Esguerra, Christine Ewald, Samantha Kubil, Alex Pantazi, Tre Wherry, and Vicente Levya. Students at ISU have been finalists and semi-finalists in the 2012 and 2014 NASA solo and quartet competitions, and presented works at World Saxophone Congresses in Scotland and France. The ensemble is interested in developing both the repertoire and audiences for saxophone ensembles of all sizes.



Other Performers / Participants

Name Instrument Bio
Samantha  Kubil Saxophone Samantha Kubil is a junior in music education at ISU.  Samantha serves as the President of ISU' . . .
Trenell  Wherry Saxophone Trenell Wherry-Smith is a senior performance major at ISU.  Trenell is a winner of both the ISU . . .
Alex  Pantazi Saxophone Alex Pantazi is a senior music performance and education major at ISU.  Alex is a leader throug . . .
Christine Ewald Saxophone Christine Ewald is a junior music perfornace and physics education major at Illinois State. Christin . . .
Riley  Carter Saxophone Riley Carter is a sophomore music performance and education student at ISU. Riley performs regular . . .
Devin Cano Saxophone Devin Cano is a sophomore music performance and education major at ISU.  Devin is a member of t . . .
Marwin  Esguerra Saxophone Marwin Esguerra is a freshman music therapy major at Illinois State. Marwin performs regularly with . . .
Vicente Leyva Saxophone Vicente Leyva is a junior music education major at ISU.  Vicente has taught at ISU's Junior Hig . . .
Kevin Buck Saxophone Kevin Buck is a sophomore music education and jazz studies minor at ISU.  Kevin is an accomplis . . .

Pieces to Be Performed

Title Composer Duration
Untitled Roy Magnuson 8
Untitled Joshua Keeling 10