Facebook Twitter Instagram

NASA 2020 Biennial Conference Presenter — Connie Frigo

Mark your calendars now to join us Friday-Monday, March 6-9, 2020 for the NASA 2020 Biennial Conference at Arizona State University in Tempe, Arizona.
— NASA Director of Marketing


Saxophone Player
NASA 2020 Biennial Conference Premium Sponsors
2020 Conference Sponsors

You may click on the photo for a higher resolution version of the photo.

Name: Connie Frigo
Presentation Date: Sunday, March 8, 2020 1:00 PM
Presentation Venue: Gammage 311
Presentation Title: JacobTV’s Boombox Works with Interactive Audio by INFO PHIL
Type of Presentation: Non-Performance: Classical Lecture
Proposal Duration: 50

Connie Frigo is Associate Professor of Saxophone at the University of Georgia. In addition to her international performing and teaching credentials, she is a sought-after presenter on professional development, creativity and women in music. She is a steadfast organizer of interdisciplinary events that focus on the creative process, human connection and engaging new audiences. Connie is the inaugural Chair of the NASA's Committee on the Status of Women. She served six years with the premiere U.S. Navy Band, Washington, D.C.; seven years as the baritone saxophonist with the New Century Saxophone Quartet; and taught at the Universities of Tennessee and Maryland, and Ithaca College. She is a Fulbright Scholar and Artist/Clinician with Henri Selmer Paris and D’Addario. Recently, Connie traveled to Italy, Russia, Brazil, Panama and Croatia to perform and teach, and has taught at American Saxophone Academy (Eastman), the Great Plains Saxophone Workshop, and the Dakota Chamber Music Festival.  

Other Performers / Participants


Jacob TV


Bio: Dutch composer JacobTV ( Jacob Ter Veldhuis ) started as a rock musician and studied composition and electronic music in Groningen. In 1980 he received the Composition Prize of the Netherlands. He soon made a name for himself with melodious compositions, straight from the heart and with great effect. ‘I pepper my music with sugar,’ he says. Over the last 25 years, JacobTV’s so-called ‘boombox’ works, for live instruments with a grooving sound track, based on speech melodies became internationally popular. The press called him the Andy Warhol of new music. In 2007 a 3-day JacobTV fest at the Whitney Museum in NYC took place. JacobTV is still considered an ‘outlaw’ in new music, whose work ‘makes many a hip-hop artist look sedate’ according to the Wall Street Journal. In 2016 JacobTV received the BUMA Classical Award for being the best classical musical export product of the Netherlands. 

Christopher Raphael

software engineer, audio tech

Bio: Christopher Raphael is a professor in the Luddy School of Informatics, Computing, and Engineering where he heads the Music Informatics program, as well as holding an adjunct appointment in the Jacobs School of Music.  He studied the oboe with Ray Still of the Chicago Symphony, held a fellowship at Tanglewood, and played seriously for a number of years before receiving his PhD in Applied Mathematics from Brown University in 1991.  At Indiana University, his research focuses on applications to music, including accompaniment systems, optical music recognition, computer generated musical analysis, musical signal processing, and modeling of musical interpretation.   

Kaitlin Pet

software engineer, audio tech

Bio: Kaitlin Pet is an Informatics PhD student at the Indiana University Luddy School of Informatics, Computer Science and Engineering. She holds a BA in Biology and Computer Science from Columbia University and a GPD from the Hartt School in Oboe Performance, where she concentrated on chamber performance. Kaitlin is passionate about new music and has performed in multiple venues with the Hartt’s Foot in the Door contemporary ensemble, including the 2019 CBDNA conference at Arizona State University. 

Connie Frigo

Soprano and Alto Saxophone

Bio: undefined

Pieces to Be Performed

Title Composer Duration
Billie Jacob ter Veldhuis 11
Garden of Love Jacob ter Veldhuis 7